18 Jul 2024
Friday 25 August 2023 - 11:44
Story Code : 407567

BRICS invites Iran, five other states to join as new members

BRICS invites Iran, five other states to join as new members
The Iran Project - Heads of the BRICS group of developing nations have invited six states - Argentina, Egypt, Iran, Ethiopia, Saudi Arabia and the UAE - to become new members of the bloc, South African president whose country is hosting a summit meeting of the BRICS grouping announced.

Iran has received an invitation to join the BRICS group of emerging economies, which is currently meeting in Johannesburg, South Africa to discuss expanding its membership.

South African President Cyril Ramaphosa announced that the current member states have agreed to admit Iran, Argentina, Egypt, Ethiopia, the UAE, and Saudi Arabia as new members.

The expansion is set to take place on January 1, 2024. Mohammad Jamshidi, the Iranian president's deputy chief of staff for political affairs, described Iran's membership as a "historic development" and a "strategic success" for the country's foreign policy.

Chinese President Xi Jinping stated that the expansion will bring new energy to the group's cooperation.

UAE President Mohammed bin Zayed expressed appreciation for his country's inclusion and emphasized the commitment to cooperation for global prosperity.

Russian President Vladimir Putin thanked his South African counterpart for his efforts in expanding the bloc. Iran had formally applied for membership.

President Raisi arrived in Pretoria to attend the summit. He praised BRICS for uniting independent countries with the goal of economic cooperation and countering unilateralism.

Your Name
Your Email Address